Teal Mini Swap 2015

Teal Mini Swap 2015 Blog Hop

I love making quilts. And I love helping raise money for cancer research. I got to combine these two in September for Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month with a quilt swap. For non-quilters – I make one little quilt, and the person I’m paired up with makes one, and we swap through the mail. The organizer of the swap, Beth Helfter of EvaPaige Quilt Designs , was able to send over $2,000 to Ovarian Cancer Research Fund! For this swap we could choose to make a mini quilt, up to 24 inches square, or make a Mug Rug, which is a small placemat for a mug and a treat, about 8 x 10 inches. I chose Mug Rug. 😀

I have never participated in a quilt swap before so I was a little nervous. As part of the swap we received a square of teal fabric. It took me quite a while to choose other fabrics to go along with it. My swap partner emailed me and we chatted back and forth about what we like – that helped a lot. I finally chose Handcrafted 2 by  fabric designer Allison Glass.

I love these hand made batik fabrics, so fresh, and rich in color.

alison-glas-handmade-collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also selected a kitty fabric, Retro Atomic Tabby Cat from Michael Miller fabrics

retro-atomic-tabby-cat-fabric-sea-foam-4

 

 

 

 

 

Next I had to choose a design. Aaaccckkkk! I finally decided on a modified Log Cabin block, with two of the kitty images “fussy cut” to be featured in the center. Here’s my final product…

IMG_6786

For the machine quilting I chose white thread, and used a wavy line stitch on my sewing machine.

 

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. And I learned that I like making small quilts!

 

 

 

Here’s the Mug Rug I received from my swap partner…

IMG_6792

I love love love it!

I’m so happy I participated in this swap. I made a new friend, I received a super cute Mug Rug (plus a fat quarter of that adorable tiger kitty fabric), and I helped raise money for cancer research. Win. Win. Win.

 

 

 

Check out these other bloggers posting about Teal Mini Swap 2015:

October 12 – Twelo Quilting and One Quilting Circle
October 13 – Susan Brehm and Books Hooks Sticks Etc
October 14 – Teachpany and Bobbin’s Lullaby
October 15 – Splitting Stitches and Purple Leaf Quilts
October 16 – Blue Ribbon Sewing and Quilt Art by Megan

One comment

Leave a Reply

